Department of Curriculum and Instruction

November 9, 2015

We the undersigned members of the faculty in the Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education, strongly oppose the Campus Carry Legislation. As teacher educators and researchers on teaching and learning, we are deeply concerned about the potential silencing of academic discussion and inquiry that the presence of dangerous weapons in classrooms will have. Education can only occur in a safe space. Positive learning communities are built upon trust, safety, openness to ideas, and freedom from intimidation or retaliation. We hope the legislature will reconsider this policy and allow us to foster learning and inquiry in a gun-free environment.

Deborah Palmer, Associate Professor
Elaine K. Horwitz, Professor
Flavio S. Azevedo, Assistant Professor
Min Liu, Professor
Joan E. Hughes, Associate Professor
Jennifer Keys Adair, Assistant Professor
Jo Worthy, Professor
Melissa Wetzel, Associate Professor
Susan B. Empson, Professor
Beth Maloch, Professor
Jessica Hunt, Assistant Professor
Keffrelyn Brown, Associate Professor
Paul Resta, Professor
Nancy Roser, Professor
Fikile Nxumalo, Assistant Professor
Katherina Payne, Assistant Professor
Noah De Lissovoy, Associate Professor
Rebecca Callahan, Associate Professor
Lucy Camarillo-May, Lecturer
Beth Smith Feger, Clinical Assistant Professor
Sheri Mycue, Clinical Assistant Professor
Deborah Kelt, Lecturer
Catherine Riegle-Crumb, Associate Professor
Xiaofen Keating, Associate Professor
Haydee Rodriguez, Clinical Assistant Professor
Luis Urrieta, Associate Professor
Claudia Cervantes-Soon, Assistant Professor
Louis Harrison, Professor

Click here for reprint permissions.